Top of the page

Brass Band

National Youth Brass Band of Wales

The National Youth Brass Band of Wales, under its first musical director, and current president, Edward Gregson, was formed in 1982 by the Welsh Amateur Music Federation, which as Tŷ Cerdd, continues to provide administration and funding as a partner in National Youth Arts Wales. Trombonist PNG

Members of the National Youth Brass Band of Wales are drawn from all parts of Wales, and auditioned or re-auditioned annually. A large number of former members are now well known as soloists, conductors, or as performers with top British bands or orchestras. The majority of NYBBW tutors once played in the National Youth Brass Band of Wales, as did many of the Band’s pastoral staff.

In addition to Edward Gregson, the Band’s conductors have included Arthur Kenny, Bram Tovey, Howard Snell, James Gourlay, Frank Renton, James Watson, Robert Childs, Ray Farr, Nigel Boddice, Nicholas Childs and Stephen Cobb.

From its first concert at the Brangwyn Hall, Swansea, the National Youth Brass Band of Wales has established an enviable reputation for performing contemporary works. Numerous composers have been commissioned by the Band, including Alun Hoddinott, Mervyn Burtch, Gareth Wood, Christopher Painter, John Phillips, John Pickard, Peter Graham, Nigel Clarke and Martin Ellerby. The Band also features a wide range of "test-pieces" in its programmes, ranging from the classics of the repertoire to the most recent.

Tours to The Netherlands, Norway and Canada, performances at the major Welsh Festivals, including the Welsh Proms, together with radio and television broadcasts have all featured in the Band’s activities to date.