top of page

Hilary Tann - Seven Poems of Stillness


The music of Hilary Tann's Seven Poems of Stillness (2013) is played by cellist, Guy Johnston, which is woven around spoken poetry by R.S. Thomas.

I. “the air / a staircase for silence” (Kneeling)
II. “the great brush has not rested” (The View from the Window)
III. “like some huge moth out of the darkness” (The Empty Church)
IV. “as the interior of a cathedral” (The Moorland)
V. “Bright Field / lit bush” (The Bright Field)
VI. “the possibility of your presence” (Cones)
VII. “nights that are so still” (The Other) 

rec. 15 April 2014

REVIEW (November 2014)

Although Hilary Tann has been resident in the Uni