top of page

Alex McGee 1981 

Alex McGee was born in Haverfordwest and educated at Cardiff University and UWIC before gaining an MA from Oxford Brookes University. His published music includes pieces for concert band but the majority of his compositions are for brass band —  commissions include works for several prominent British brass bands including Kidlington Concert Brass and for the National Police Memorial Service (of which is is the musical director). Principal among these works is a fanfare to announce the arrival of His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales. 

List of published works 


Suites for brass band

Tylwyth Teg

A Carmarthen suite 

Afon Tywy Suite 


Concert overtures


Take to the skies 


Programme music 

Y Barchud Coch 

Far from home

Elizabethan Lament 


Pentre Ifan


Platinum Reign 


Concert Marches 

HMS Victory

The Vulcan 

English Electric Lightning   

Alex McGee.png
bottom of page