top of page

Gareth Moorcraft 1990

Originally from Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan, Gareth Moorcraft is a composer and arranger based in London and South Wales. His music has been performed and broadcast internationally by leading ensembles including the Philharmonia, the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, Endymion, Chroma Ensemble, Cellophony, and L’Association Eubage. Recent highlights include a new work Cycles, composed for UPROAR Ensemble’s inaugural 10x10 project for composers in Wales, and an ongoing collaboration with internationally acclaimed recorder virtuoso Tabea Debus, who recently performed Gareth’s Diaries of the Early Worm at the Wigmore Hall, London.

Gareth’s concert works are regularly commissioned and performed in the UK and Europe, and his music has been released on NMC Recordings and Delphian Records. Projects have spanned collaborations with dance companies (The National Dance Company of Wales, and The New Dance Collective, Hamburg), site-specific installations (Swansea International Festival; Artes Mundi 6), and live film projects with Chroma and Sinfonia Cymru.

In 2016, Gareth won the prestigious RPS Composition Prize and was subsequently commissioned to write Reflections (After Gibbons) which was premiered at the ‘Music of Today’ series at the Royal Festival Hall. He is also the recipient of the Theodore Holland Intercollegiate Composition Prize - a biennial competition open to outstanding composition students from the RNCM, RCM, RAM and RCS - the Ty Cerdd Composition Prize (2013), and the British Composer Awards Student Prize (2012). Gareth attended the Britten-Pears Advanced Composition Courses run by Oliver Knussen and Colin Matthews (2016) and John Woolrich and Huw Watkins (2014), and he was later invited to return as composer in residence with the Britten-Pears Advanced Brass course (2018). 

Gareth studied composition with Robert Saxton (Worcester College, Oxford), and subsequently with Gary Carpenter and David Sawer (Royal Academy of Music, London). He completed his PhD in 2019, and he is currently a lecturer and researcher at the Royal Academy of Music, London.

Gareth Moorcraft Photo1b.jpg

Ar hyn o bryd mae'r cynnwys hwn ar gael yn Saesneg yn unig.

bottom of page