top of page

Welsh Open BB Championship results

1. Ebbw Valley Brass (Gareth Ritter): 198

2. Llwydcoed (Joshua Ruck): 197

3. City of Cardiff (M1) (Christopher Bond): 196

4. Burry Port Town (Andrew Jones): 194

5. Parc & Dare (Dewi Griffiths): 193

6. Brunel Brass (Daniel Hall): 192

7. Filton Concert Brass (Nathan Jenkins): 191

8. Tongwynlais Temperance (Owen Farr): 190

9. Pontardulais Town (Paul Jenkins): 189

10. Jackfield (Ryan Richards): 188

11. Michelmersh Silver (Melvin White): 187

12. Tylorstown (Gary Davies): 186

13. BTM (Jeff Hutcherson): 185

14. Lewis Merthyr (Craig Roberts): 184


Most Entertaining Stage Presentation: Llwydcoed

Invitation to compete at 2023 Spring Festival: Burry Port

Highest Placed First Section Band not in Prizes: B.T.M.

(Available to the band that did not play with any borrowed player from a Championship Section registered band)

Best Soloist: Philip Howells (xylophone) — Ebbw Valley Brass

Best Cornet Player: Andrew Smith (Llwydcoed)

4BR Best Soprano Player: Tom King (Llwydcoed)

Best Horn Section: Brunel Brass

Best Percussion Section: Ebbw Valley Brass

Youngest Instrumentalist: Sioned Evans (aged 14) — Burry Port

Ebbw Valley Brass took the entertainment honours at the 25th Welsh Open in Newport as they opened their 2023 contesting season with an impressive cross border victory. Their 'Splish, Splash, Splosh' set under MD Gareth Ritter saw them claim the impressive CISWO Challenge Trophy plus £1,000 first prize, whilst their 'Best Percussion' section and outstanding xylophone soloist Philip Howells adding further silverware to polish.


bottom of page