top of page
CoDI 23 24 logo.png

Across the three artist development pathways of CoDI 2023/24, our 16 music creators have now been selected from a huge number of applications. We appreciate each one that we receive and would like to thank everyone who applied, as well as offer congratulations to the chosen artists on their success.

We’ll introduce the strands one-by-one, beginning with…

Composers' Studio, for which six artists have been selected to participate, is a pathway giving early-career composers the opportunity and support to write a 5-minute piece for conducted ensemble of 12 players and is delivered in partnership with UPROAR – Wales's new contemporary ensemble, artistic director Michael Rafferty – and with composer mentors Lynne Plowman and Richard Baker. It’s all made possible through the funding from Jerwood Developing Artists Fund, Arts Council of Wales, PRS Foundation, RVW Foundation, The Fenton Arts Trust, Garrick Charitable Trust, and The Leche Trust.

Eluned Davies, Jake Thorpe, Joseph Graydon, Luciano Williamson,

Niamh O'Donnell, and Tayla-Leigh Payne

The next four artists have been chosen for BŴM! which is a pathway for early-career artists in making outdoor music and sound that responds to themes of climate crisis. This is a partnership with Oxford Contemporary Music and Articulture and will support artists to develop practical and creative skills and to learn about embedding climate responsive work into their practice. All this activity is enabled with funding from Jerwood Arts Developing Artists Fund, Arts Council of Wales and PRS Foundation.

Ella Roberts, Francesca Simmons, Gwen Siôn, and Teifi Emerald

And thirdly, Penguin Pebbling is a pathway specially for neuro-divergent music-creators – of any genre – in partnership with Aubergine Café, which is led by sound-duo Ardal Bicnic (Heledd C Evans & Rosey Brown) and creative producer Jake Griffiths. For this project we selected six early-career music-creators who will explore techniques and approaches over a series of workshops, leading to a final sharing event/recording. Thanks to Arts Council of Wales and PRS Foundation for their generous financial support with this strand.

Eranan Thirumagan, Ffion Campbell-Davies, James Jones, Laura Phillips, 

Neo Ukandu, and Rhiannon Takel 

CoDI 2023-24 logo strips (all strands) with Jerwood.png
Composers' Studio logo strip complete.png
Composers' Studio logo strip complete.png

Tŷ Cerdd is a PRS Foundation Talent Development Partner in association with Youth Music

bottom of page